9 Thing you should know before watching today’s India vs Pakistan T20 match

Time is valuable and it adds value too. Anything that happens after a considerable amount of time grabs more attention as against a regular affair. India and Pakistan contests have always been a houseful event but with its declining frequency, thanks to the political tensions between the two countries, it has become all the more precious. 
A year after the arch-rivals were locked into a battle during the 50-over World Cup in Australia, India and Pakistan are once again all set to enthrall the world with the cut-throat competitiveness at the on-going Asia Cup T20 in Bangladesh today (27-02-2016).
While India-Pakistan contests are interesting to the core, statistics help in putting it in numbers.
Here are some of the interesting statistics related to the India-Pakistan matches:
  1. India and Pakistan have so far played 6 Twenty20 internationals.
  2. Out of 6 matches, India have won 4 times while Pakistan managed victory in just 1 match. One match ended in a tie.
  3. India-Pakistan first met in a T20I during the 2007 World T20 at Durban. The match has become a part of folklore as it ended in a tie and India were declared the winner after a bowl-out contest. 
  4. The only match India lost to Pakistan was played in Bangalore in 2012 during a bilateral series. However, India won the next match in Ahmedabad to level the series.
  5. The last time the two teams came face-to-face in a T20 match was during the 2014 World T20 held in Bangladesh. India had beaten Pakistan by 7 wickets with 9 balls to spare.
  6. Pakistan have only three surviving members from the XI that faced India last in T20Is – Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez.
  7. India have nine survivors – Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.
  8. Coming into this match, India have won its previous three T20 matches while Pakistan have lost two out of three.
  9. Virat Kohli is the leading run-getter for India against Pakistan in T20Is. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here