Former Australian cricketer Brad Hogg came up with a tweet questioning whether taking advantage while being at the non-striker end falls within the spirit of the game after seeing Mumbai’s Dhawal Kulkarni leaving the crease way before the ball was released from Lungi Ngidi in the last ball of the league match between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. It was 2 runs required in the last ball and Kulkarni comfortably completed the second run after leaving the crease way too early.
“Sorry again for my harp. Last night last ball 2 runs needed and the non striker again taking advantage. Is this in the spirit of the game. #IPL2020 #MIvsCSK” Brad Hogg asked in his tweet by adding the picture of Kulkarni starting his run before Ngidi releasing the ball from his hand.
Check out his tweet below :
This tweet from him blew up in no time with enormous number of reactions from the fans. “A rule like giving a penalty of 2 runs to the batting team… This is because if a bowler steps over the line its a no ball, and an penalty of a extra run and a free hit. But there is no penalty if the batsmen does the same.. Ridiculous rules!! @ICC needs to look into this” a twitter user commented whereas another one said “Police it like a no ball, really simple. If no part of the batsman or his equipment is behind the line, the first run is “one short”.
Check out some of their comments below :
A rule like giving a penalty of 2 runs to the batting team… This is because if a bowler steps over the line its a no ball, and an penalty of a extra run and a free hit. But there is no penalty if the batsmen does the same.. Ridiculous rules!! @ICC needs to look into this 🙏— [email protected] (@karthikkohli180) May 2, 2021
Police it like a no ball, really simple. If no part of the batsman or his equipment is behind the line, the first run is "one short".— Steve Hocking (@skippersteve86) May 2, 2021
This happens atleast once in every team and games.. And you noticed it yesterday only.😂😂— Vaathi (@Vaathi12) May 2, 2021
So sad for you guys..MI won the Game. that's it. Dot.
Can u explain me this logic of what u saying? Even pollard can remove his gloves and bat if he wants to🤣— Mouli Ramesh (@kavitamouli) May 2, 2021
Now, technology is there.— gocool (@gokulan1980) May 2, 2021
The game and decisions keep improving with ages.
All cricketers are not r Ashwin pic.twitter.com/1cHsbyuxD6— Cricket lover (@criccrazylover) May 2, 2021
@ICC If a non-striker is not stopped from running away before the ball is bowled and that part of the run is still counted as legal run, then let the non-striker run twice before the ball is bowled and give 2 runs. 😂🤦.— MissionRCB2021 (@pothina_krishna) May 2, 2021
Stupid rules and ICC is sleeping and snoring 😴.
Mumbai Indians clinched the victory against Chennai Super Kings with the help of Pollard’s terrific knock of 34 balls 87. When 16 runs were needed in the last 6 balls, Pollard kept the strike by denying singles and smashed two fours and one six. 2 runs needed in the last ball and Ngidi who got punished for his two full tosses, bowled a yorker length delivery and Pollard jammed it to the right of long-on. By the time the throw came to the bowler’s end, Kulkarni was comfortably in.